TIMER favours

WTimer 1hile flipping through more wedding books from the library, I came across a DIY wedding favour that looked easy enough for me to do without messing up. I tried it out over the weekend, customizing it with a friend’s initials and her actual wedding date, and the finished product looked amazing. Why don’t you give it try? I promise you this is easy and budget-friendly. If you’re interested in more wedding craft ideas, check out Donna Kooler’s book, Great Wedding Parties: Penny-Wise Ideas For Parties With Sparkle (available online for $21.95 CAD + tax or (hopefully) at your local library). You’ll find more ideas that “sparkle.” Below, you’ll find my variation of her DIY Timer Favors.

Required supplies:

  • 3 ½”-high egg timers in wooden holders (available in craft stores in packages of 6)
  • Black glossy acrylic paint
  • Small round brush
  • 5 ¼” of 1” ivory satin ribbon
  • 18kt.-gold leafing pen
  • Scissors

Since I was only making one “favour”, I used whatever I could find in my house. When it’s your turn, you will have to head to the crafts store. In my case, I got a really old wooden egg timer from my washroom (from years ago when I timed how long I spent brushing my teeth), I used purple paint (or really any colour to match your theme), I personally like sponge brushes so I used that, I cut some 1/8” blue satin ribbon (what I had on hand) and I used a black marker instead. As you can see, liberties can be taken. Using the supplies that you have chosen, it is time to transform your egg timer.

Instructions:

  1. Paint the wooden holder with the acrylic paint. To avoid the plastic, if possible, take apart the egg timer. Allow to dry. Continue until all wood is the desired colour. Reassemble the egg timer.
  2. Personalize the egg timer using the marker. The book suggests that the initials of the couple are written on top. I added more by also putting the wedding date on the bottom. The choice is yours. If your hand is really steady, you can write around the rim if you so desire. (Remember though that you will be mass-producing this for all the guests so maybe simple is best?)
  3. The final step: Tie a bow with the ribbon around one support bar of the timer. Use the scissors to trim the ends off at an angle (you see the difference when the ribbon is thicker).

Timer 2

All done! A simple and elegant DIY wedding favour for you to try. May your marriage withstand the test of time!

Share your thoughts

